Solar Panel

Respond to these items after reading:
1) Is this worth doing?
2) Would you contribute?
3) What group would be good to donate kick-back to?

Jefferson Park picnic shelter solar panels will power the Community Center in Jefferson Park.  Each panel is $600, producing ~50kWh per year per panel. More information at http://www.seattle.gov/light/Solar/community.asp

If 20 people in our group contribute, that means a $30 each donation.  Tile at picnic shelter would engrave and credit Seattle Environmental Activists for our panel–a good media move.  No to Keystone Pipeline, coal trains, Yes to renewable energy.

Incentives: Annual credit WA state: approx. $54 per solar unit, Seattle CIty Light estimated annual credit $3.50 per solar unit. This could go to a group for renewable energy or a local 350climate organization office. It has to be something within Seattle City Light area. It could go to an individual, but then they would be responsible for doing donation. I think it would be easier to support a group. NWSeed.org or WAS.org (Washington solar) was suggested. Any other good ideas? This wouldn’t have to be decided until end July.

So lots of positives–good supporting project, which supports with incentives a group, positive to bring up in talking points.

1) Is this worth doing?
2) Would you contribute?
3) What group would be good to donate kick-back to, if so?

 

This entry was posted in SEA Action and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Solar Panel

  1. gracegriff says:

    1) Yes
    2) Yes
    3) any suggested above

  2. Mary Davies says:

    Though this looks like a good project, I didn’t know where Jefferson Park is (I do now) and I prefer to be deliberate about what we support, instead of responding on an ad hoc basis. My vote would be to focus on other matters first. I think the chances of any real press notice would be minimal, and even if they weren’t, are we ready for press attention? I don’t think so. I myself would prefer not to contribute to this.
    Mary Davies

  3. jbautsch says:

    1. Yes
    2. Yes
    3. Sightline (local environmental group)

  4. mkmanous says:

    1. Yes
    2. Yes
    3. Sightline (http://www.sightline.org/) “Sightline Institute is an independent, nonprofit research and communications center—a think tank—founded by Alan Durning in 1993. Sightline equips the Northwest’s citizens and decision-makers with the policy research and practical tools they need to advance long-term solutions to our region’s most significant challenges. Our work includes in-depth research, commentary, and analysis, delivered online, by email, and in-person to Northwest policy champions.” They did a Coal Export FAQ and research on shipping coal through two Washington ports (Bellingham and Longview).

    I can see Mary Davies’ point, but thought that this could be a way to rally the group during the start up; I would be for more group consideration in the future. It still depends upon there being 20 people willing to contribute $30 each, as I understand it.

  5. kathypicea says:

    I was curious if the project would entail not having big trees in the park. I’d probably have to see the park and see if I thought it was a good idea there. If it doesn’t have enough tree cover, and if the project precludes big trees, then I would say no, because Seattle is so short on places to grow big trees.

  6. aronszajn says:

    1) yes
    2) yes
    3) Not clear to me how we’d arrange for another group to get the kick-back discount on utility bill.

    Following up on the comments from the Marys… I would say that we should have a bit of a discussion in the group on the process for bringing such proposals up for consideration.

  7. waltzingdan says:

    I spent yesterday afternoon at the Jefferson Park, watching the very spectacular sunset, wow. I like the park, much of which sits on top of a reservoir. I spoke with a gentleman at the community center who said that, while the community center is not associated with the park, he had heard of the solar panels and he liked the idea.
    I think that being involved with the panels would give our group a little bit of hands on experience with this important energy source. I know that having this investment would encourage me to visit this park, and I suggest that a small, regular contribution of this sort may be a benefit to ourselves and our groups’ cause.
    1.) Yes
    2.) Yes
    3.) There is probably time to find an appropriate cause for donation later. I don’t know enough about local groups as yet.

    Dan O’Connor

Feedback

